5 Ultra Read Active

It wasn’t that long ago when I thought reading was a drag and avoided it like the flu at all possible costs. Today, I can’t wait to find a good book and immediately start diving in. These books I refer to belong in categories such as business, personal development, entrepreneurship, and biographies.

When I was first exposed to these genres, it was completely accidental. However, I fell in love with them instantly. Not long after, I begun to crave a regular dosage of the empowering messages contained in these binded pages.

The more I read, the more my mindset changed and my perspective on the world became more encouraging. I find myself motivating my closest friends and really, just bringing more kindness to the people I encounter.

These five titles below are some of my recommendations and favorites for personal development and marketing. I’ve also listed some of the lessons I’ve learned from reading each one!

All Marketers Tell Stories- Seth Godin

  • People will convince themselves to rationalize their irrational decision.
  • A great story is true in the manner that its voice is consistent and authentic.
  • The best stories confirm what the audience already believes so the reader feels smart and secure.

What to Say to get What You Want- Sam Deep and Lyle Sussman

  • Never settle for second best just because you think the best is out of your reach.
  • Be clear and concise with your message so your listeners know exactly what you are looking for.
  • Model the behavior you desire, and don’t send contradictory signals.

Slight Edge- Jeff Olson

  • There is no such thing as “some day”, only today
  • Steady wins the race
  • Success is not immediate and failure is not instantaneous

How to Win Friends and Influence People- Dale Carnegie

  • Make the person you’re talking to feel important, and do so genuinely
  • Let the other person do a great deal of talking
  • Use encouragement and make the fault seem simple to correct

No BS Sales Success- Dan Kennedy

  • Build responses to possible objections from customers
  • Encourage prospects to tell you what problems they are facing, and what they value the most. Then you can customize your presentation to show how your product or service can solve their problem and enhance the values
  • The sales person should be better positioned as a high-value consultant because no one seeks a guru at the bottom of the mountain

Have you read any of these books? If so, which one do you like best and how has reading the book since impacted you? And do you have any books that you’d recommend to someone else?

Hey you! Got a second?

Thanks for reading this post, and I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed sharing this experience. Connect with me on Twitter so I can let you know when new content is available!

https://twitter.com/austinbliang

Also, check out pics I share on Instagram,

http://instagram.com/austinbliang

Until next time, your favorite entrepreneurial blogger,

Austin Liang

Leave a Reply

